Tuesday 25th - Friday 28th January: Tracks closed each day but we will be open each day of the Long Weekend. Update for track conditions Friday evening.


Appin Brings Changes at the Top

Australian MX Champs 2015

maddix park mx

www.motoonline.com.au  by Alex Gobert

Mosig takes Appin MX1 overall in dominant day for CDR Yamaha 

CDR Yamaha riders Mosig and Reardon split wins in dramatic round.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Image: Jeff Crow.

CDR Yamaha duo Kade Mosig and Daniel Reardon scored an MX1 win apiece at Appin’s second round of the 2015 MX Nationals today in New South Wales.

The overall went to Mosig, his second since Swan Hill last season, as the overall podium featured the same three riders as Horsham – Mosig, Kirk Gibbs and Luke Styke – a fortnight ago.

A dramatic start to the opening premier class moto saw reigning number one plate holder Matt Moss go down in the first turn, out of the race and transported to hospital for scans after undergoing treatment from Suzuki RACESAFE.

The win eventually went to Mosig in another strong showing for CDR, finishing near four seconds ahead of Styke and Gibbs, a further two seconds back.

Gibbs put in an exceptional performance to come from the rear of the field for third after he too was caught up in the first turn incident.

Fourth was teenager Jesse Dobson on his Husqvarna, while longtime leader Lawson Bopping was forced to settle for fifth at the close of the moto.

Completing the top 10 were Dan Reardon as another to be involved in the turn one melee, Dylan Long, Adam Monea, Cody Cooper and Kale Makeham, who was also a fast starter.

The second MX1 moto was all Reardon at the front, dominating from the outset to hold Gibbs at bay for his first race win upon return to racing.

Behind Reardon and Gibbs was the ever-consistent Styke third, while fourth for Reardon’s teammate Mosig secured him the overall round win.

Fifth was Dobson in another exceptional ride for the round, trailed by Bopping, Makeham, Monea, Long and Cooper the top 10.

The overall podium eventually resulted in Mosig with the overall from Gibbs, who got the better of teammate Styke on countback. In terms of the championship, it’s now Gibbs with a 14-point buffer from Mosig and Styke.

2015 MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship
Round two – Appin, NSW

MX1 overall results:
1. Kade Mosig 63
2. Kirk Gibbs 62
3. Luke Styke 62
4. Daniel Reardon 60
5. Jesse Dobson 54
6. Lawson Bopping 51
7. Adam Monea 46
8. Dylan Long 46
9. Kale Makeham 45
10. Cody Cooper 43
11. Daniel McCoy 39
12. Aaron Tanti 38
13. John Phillips 37
14. Daniel McEntee 34
15. Darcy Jones 32
16. Izak Maule 29
17. Daniel Banks 29
18. Charlie White 25
19. Damon Batterson 21
20. Scott Green 20

MX1 championship standings:
1. Kirk Gibbs 141
2. Kade Mosig 127
3. Luke Styke 120
4. Lawson Bopping 113
5. Adam Monea 99
6. Cody Cooper 98
7. Jesse Dobson 95
8. Dylan Long 93
9. Kale Makeham 87
10. Daniel Reardon 87
11. Aaron Tanti 70
12. Daniel McEntee 69
13. Daniel McCoy 68
14. Ford Dale 63
15. Darcy Jones 59
16. John Phillips 53
17. Daniel Banks 53
18. Izak Maule 51
19. Cheyne Boyd 40
20. Matt Moss 34

Click here for detailed results

Clout regains red plate with Appin MX2 round win

Yamaha duo Clout and Wilson duke it out for the overall.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Serco Yamaha’s current MX2 MX Nationals champion Luke Clout has claimed an emphatic overall round win at Appin today to reclaim the series leader’s red plate.

Jay Wilson claimed an inspired opening moto victory for JCR Yamaha, fending off defending champion Clout in the closing laps to open his account for the year.

Wilson led early before Clout made his way through, however he soon stalled and allowed Wilson back in front.

From there over the final laps it was a tight battle for victory, but Wilson was able to remain composed and stretch a slight advantage in the closing two laps for the moto.

Behind them, Nathan Crawford rebounded from two early crashes for third, while Jed Beaton made his way through the pack from well back to fourth.

Kiwi Rhys Carter was next best in fifth with a consistent effort, trailed by Hamish Harwood, Dylan Wills was was third early before a light crash, Wade Hunter, an impressive Dylan Gosling and Taka Katusya, who came from the rear of the field to 10th.

It was a disastrous moto for title threat Caleb Ward, who pulled out of the moto in the opening laps and he wouldn’t return for the round, now due to undergo scans on a knee injury next week.

An incredible second moto went to Clout, who shadowed Wilson for much of the moto before overtaking him in the final laps for the race and overall victory – his second consecutive at Appin.

The win sees Clout regain the red plate, after Beaton had another bad start to end up sixth this time around. Completing the race podium was Katsuya in yet another convincing performance, with Nathan Crawford and Wade Hunter filling the top five.

Behind sixth-placed Beaton was fast-starter Rhys Carter, Dylan Wills, Dylan Leary in his best result of the season to date and Hamish Harwood.

Overall it was Clout the victor from Wilson and Crawford, which sees Clout move to the top of the ladder over Wilson and Beaton, who was fourth overall today.

2015 MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship
Round two – Appin, NSW

MX2 overall results:
1. Luke Clout 67
2. Jay Wilson 67
3. Nathan Crawford 58
4. Jed Beaton 53
5. Takeshi Katsuya 51
6. Rhys Carter 50
7. Wade Hunter 49
8. Dylan Wills 47
9. Hamish Harwood 46
10. Dylan Leary 40
11. Luke Arbon 38
12. Dylan Gosling 38
13. Jack Simpson 32
14. Joel Wightman 32
15. Luke Wilson 28
16. Kyle Webster 28
17. Riley Graham 25
18. Alex Morris 25
19. Keiron Hall 21
20. Tomas Ravenhorst 21

MX2 championship standings:
1. Luke Clout 130
2. Jay Wilson 127
3. Jed Beaton 118
4. Takeshi Katsuya 113
5. Nathan Crawford 109
6. Wade Hunter 95
7. Dylan Wills 93
8. Rhys Carter 93
9. Luke Arbon 82
10. Hamish Harwood 82
11. Dylan Leary 75
12. Riley Graham 69
13. Jack Simpson 64
14. Joel Wightman 64
15. Dylan Gosling 59
16. Geran Stapleton 57
17. Luke Wilson 46
18. Caleb Ward 45
19. Alex Morris 43
20. Kyle Webster 41

Click here for detailed results

Bookmark and Share