Saturday 22nd & Sunday 23rd January all tracks open from 9.00 - dark. Mini track is in good condition, the MX is dry and a bit rough in places (cannot be groomed until we get rain). The Trail loops are in great condition and a good ride to escape some of the heat.


Brazil Qualifying Results

FIM MX World Champs 2014

maddix park mx
Click for a GoPro round the circuit
MX1 Qualifying Highlights
MX2 Qualifying Highlights
MX 1 Qualifying

Rockstar Energy Suzuki rider Kevin Strijbos has won the MXGP qualification race at this weekends Grand Prix of Brazil. Strijbos led home fellow Suzuki factory rider Clement Desalle and Monster Energy Kawasaki rider Gautier Paulin. 

Rui Goncalves stole the early lead in the MXGP qualification race ahead of Kevin Strijbos, Davide Guarneri, Gautier Paulin, Clement Desalle, Shaun Simpson, Evgeny Bobryshev, Jakes Nicholls, Jeremy Van Horebeek, Max Nagl, Antonio Cairoli and Todd Waters.

Strijbos passed Goncalves for the lead on lap one and Nagl passed Van Horebeek for ninth spot. Nagl though lost a lot of places as he dropped back to 18th place. Cairoli passed Nicholls for ninth spot and Paulin moved up to third position after passing Guarneri.

After two laps Strijbos extended his lead to six seconds over Goncalves, while Cairoli continued his charge, passing Van Horebeek for 8th place.

On lap two Desalle passed Paulin as Goncalves lost two places dropping to fourth spot. Cairoli was also in trouble being passed by Van Horebeek as the Belgian moved up to seventh spot (he also passed Bobryshev).

Strijbos was now 10 seconds ahead and looking comfortable, although on lap four Desalle was closing the gap a little. Goncalves had more problems as he dropped to seventh, letting Van Horebeek pass. Australian Todd Waters moved into the top ten as he passed Nicholls and Cairoli (who dropped to 15th spot).

While Strijbos still led on lap five, Simpson and Van Horebeek were looking good, moving into fourth spot and fifth spot respectively. Waters continued his good form passing Bobryshev for 8thplace.

Riders were swapping positions as Waters passed Goncalves and moved into 6th spot and Cairoli was back into 11th place, just behind Nagl and Nicholls. The amazing Italian had a classic lap as he passed Nagl, Nicholls and Bobyshev in one swoop.

While the lead by Strijbos was now seven seconds over his Rockstar Energy Suzuki team-mate Desalle, Cairoli moved up to seventh spot and was closing in fast on Waters. Cairoli passed Waters on lap nine and set out after Van Horebeek.

Bobryshev and Goncalves both faded as the race came close to its end and Nicholls remained in 11th spot. After ten laps it is Strijbos, Desalle, Paulin, Simpson, Van Horebeek, Cairoli, Waters, Nagl, Bobryshev, Nicholls in 10th. In final lap and Simpson has a problem and drops back to sixth, moving Van Horebeek and Cairoli up to fourth and fifth places.

MXGP – Qualifying Race

1 22 Strijbos, Kevin BEL Suzuki 25:01.250
2 25 Desalle, Clement BEL Suzuki 25:07.347
3 21 Paulin, Gautier FRA Kawasaki 25:11.380
4 89 Van Horebeek, Jeremy BEL Yamaha 25:14.758
5 222 Cairoli, Antonio ITA KTM 25:15.030
6 24 Simpson, Shaun GBR KTM 25:23.156
7 47 Waters, Todd AUS Husqvarna 25:29.914
8 12 Nagl, Maximilian GER Honda 25:34.602
9 777 Bobryshev, Evgeny RUS Honda 25:42.302
10 45 Nicholls, Jake GBR KTM 25:42.737

MX 2 Qualifying

Dutchman Glenn Coldenhoff showed what a bright future he has as he won the Saturday MX2 qualification race ahead of a hard charging Max Anstie. Coldenhoff of the Rockstar Suzuki MX2 effort is for sure a rider to watch in the future as his improvement rate is just amazing.

Jose Butron continued his love affair with the Brazilian Grand Prix by leading the MX2 qualification race early. The Spaniard led Alexandr Tonkov, Glenn Coldenhoff, Tim Gajser, Max Anstie, Dylan Ferrandis, Valentin Guillod, Romain Febvre, Arnaud Tonus and Petar Petrov in 10th place.

After one lap the lead by Butron was one and a half seconds over Tonkov as Anstie passed Gajser and Petrov dropped back in the field. American Covington moved into the top ten. Red Bull KTM Factory rider Jordi Tixier struggled in 12th position.

Tonus passed Febvre on lap two and set out after Guillod for seventh spot and Coldenhoff passed Tonkov for second place and quickly moved onto the back wheel of Butron.

Also on lap two Ferrandis passed Gajser and Tonus passed Guillod. Julien Lieber was working his way through the field after a bad start, holding down 17th after three laps.

Coldenhoff was on fire as he moved into the lead and quickly gapped second placed Butron. Ferrandis passed Anstie for fourth spot on lap three. Leibers charge was halted as he dropped back to 21st position.

On lap five Anstie repassed Ferrandis  as Gajser dropped off the pace and the lead by Coldenhoff was now three seconds over Butron, while Tonkov and Anstie were seven seconds back fighting over third place.

Anstie upped his pace and passed Tonkov for third position and was closing in on Butron. Febvre passed Guillod for seventh place.

Coldenhoff lead by 8 seconds after 8 laps and Anstie was fighting with Butron for second spot. Tonus moved into fifth palce by passing Ferrandis and Tixier and Lupino moved into the top ten at the expense of young American Covington and Gajser.

Australian Luke Styke had made a nice little charge having started the race in near last he was up to 19th position after nine laps. Anstie moved into second place and Butron made a mistake and was passed by Tonus and Tonkov.

Anstie began to close in on Coldenhoff and made the gap just five seconds on lap ten and by lap 10 the gap was just two seconds, Anstie clocked the quickest lap of the race in the final lap, showing how determined he was.

Tonus was a further three seconds back in third, followed by Tonkov, Febvre, Butron, Guillod, Ferrandis, Tixier and Lupino in 10th.

Coldenhoff held Anstie off for the win. A Dutchman the qualification race winner despite the non-appearance of the other Dutchman Jeffrey Herlings.

MX2 – Qualifying Race

1 259 Coldenhoff, Glenn NED Suzuki 25:25.941
2 99 Anstie, Max GBR Yamaha 25:28.130
3 200 Tonus, Arnaud SUI Kawasaki 25:31.018
4 59 Tonkov, Aleksandr RUS Husqvarna 25:38.776
5 461 Febvre, Romain FRA Husqvarna 25:39.149
6 17 Butron, Jose ESP KTM 25:45.185
7 92 Guillod, Valentin SUI KTM 25:46.158
8 122 Ferrandis, Dylan FRA Kawasaki 25:51.251
9 911 Tixier, Jordi FRA KTM 25:52.421
10 8 Lupino, Alessandro ITA Kawasaki 25:53.883

Bookmark and Share