Saturday 27th & Sunday 28th November: Mini & MX open from 9.00 until dark. The MX has been ripped and rolled, it is a mixture of damp and dry areas and depending on the weather could begin to get dusty as the weekend progresses. The Trail loops are closed as we are working on some areas.


Ferrandis beats Herlings

FIM MX World Champs 2014

maddix park mx

Red Bull KTM Factory rider Jeffrey Herlings continued to struggle somewhat with his form after being beaten by Frenchman Dylan Ferrandis (Kawasaki) in the MX2 qualification moto in Thailand today. Photo Sarah Gutierrez

Click for Studio Show

Click for Qualification Highlights

In the MX1 qualification race Antonio Cairoli (KTM) showed his form is good as he clearly beat Clement Desalle (Suzuki) and Jeremy Van Horebeek (Yamaha).

In the MX2 qualification race it was once again Dylan Ferrandis who took the lead early, followed by Glenn Coldenhoff, Jeffrey Herlings, Jordi Tixier, Romain Febvre, Max Anstie, Arnaud Tonus, Petr Petrov, Alexandr Tonkov, and Max Desprey in 10th place.

Amazingly after two laps Herlings was still third and couldn’t find the speed to pass the two front men yet.  In a lot more trouble than Herlings was Charlier in 20th and Covington in 19th places.

On a circuit that lacked places to pass the moto turned into a bit of a freight train as Ferrandis held a bike length lead over Coldenhoff and Herlings a similar length back to his fellow Dutchman. In fact in the opening four laps the only position change in the top ten was Tonkov passing Petrov.

While there was little in the way of passing, the top three were locked together in a heated battle for first place. Anstie got past Febvre for fifth position and was now just a second off from fourth placed Tixier. Around the same time Herlings passed Coldenhoff for second place.

After 10 laps the freight train continued as Ferrandis held a one second lead over Herlings, and the following four were within six seconds of the leader. Just like in Qatar the defending World MX2 Champion is clearly not on his normal pace due to his lack of time on the bike in the winter.

Ferrandis got the win from Herlings a little less than a second behind, then came Coldenhoff, Tixier, Anstie, Febvre, Tonus, Tonkov, Petrov and Desprey in 10th place.

The MX1 qualification race proved to be pretty much the same story as the MX2 early as first Clement Desalle led before getting passed by Antonio Cairoli. Third was Jeremy Van Horebeek, followed by Shaun Simpson, Matiss Karro, Steven Frossard, Tommy Searle, Max Nagle, Gautier Paulin and Kevin Strijbos in 10th place.

Once again not a lot of passing as on lap five it was Cairoli by four seconds over Desalle, with Van Horebeek third, followed by Simpson, Frossard, Searle, Nagl, Paulin, Strijbos, and Karro in 10th.

On lap seven Davide Guarneri and Joel Roelants moved into 9th and 10th places, as Karro retired from the moto, Jake Nicholls was up to 13th having started around 20th and Todd Waters was in 13th place. GP veterans Rui Goncalves and Tanel Leok were 19th and 20th.

On lap nine Searle moved past Frossard for fifth position and Paulin was also putting pressure on his fellow Frenchman. Nagl also pulled out of the race. Cairoli extended his lead to 10 seconds on lap 12.

In the end it was Cairoli, Desalle, Van Horebeek, Simpson, Searle, Frossard, Paulin, Strijbos, Guarneri, Roelants, Booog, Waters, Nicholls, Bobryshev, Justs, Goncalves, Rauchenecker, Leok, Gercar and Romphan in 20th place.

MXGP – Qualifying Race – Classification

1 222 Cairoli, Antonio ITA FMI KTM 24:56.883
2 25 Desalle, Clement BEL FMB Suzuki 25:07.051
3 89 Van Horebeek, Jeremy BEL FMB Yamaha 25:35.544
4 24 Simpson, Shaun GBR ACU KTM 25:40.922
5 100 Searle, Tommy GBR ACU Kawasaki 25:44.668
6 183 Frossard, Steven FRA FFM Kawasaki 25:46.601
7 21 Paulin, Gautier FRA MCM Kawasaki 25:50.242
8 22 Strijbos, Kevin BEL FMB Suzuki 25:53.957
9 39 Guarneri, Davide ITA FMI TM 25:59.016
10 34 Roelants, Joel BEL FMB Honda 26:01.126
11 121 Boog, Xavier FRA FFM Honda 26:10.152
12 47 Waters, Todd AUS MA Husqvarna 26:12.902
13 45 Nicholls, Jake GBR ACU KTM 26:18.766
14 777 Bobryshev, Evgeny RUS MFR Honda 26:28.549
15 95 Justs, Augusts LAT LAMSF Husqvarna 26:29.865
16 999 Goncalves, Rui POR FMP Yamaha 26:32.354
17 281 Rauchenecker, Pascal AUT OeAMTC Husqvarna 26:42.517
18 3 Leok, Tanel EST EMF TM 26:46.375
19 62 Gercar, Klemen SLO AMZS Honda 25:03.773
20 73 Romphan, Chaiyan THA FMSCT Yamaha 26:00.693
21 46 Theplib, Arnon THA FMSCT Honda 26:25.860
22 43 Kanlaya, Wattana THA FMSCT Suzuki 26:28.477
23 19 Philippaerts, David ITA FMI Yamaha 20:32.707
24 12 Nagl, Maximilian GER DMSB Honda 15:02.118
25 51 Getteman, Jens BEL FMB Honda 13:37.262
26 91 Karro, Matiss LAT LAMSF KTM 11:04.109
27 48 Suksripaisan, Jugkrit THA FMSCT Honda 10:23.659
Best lap: #222 Antonio Cairoli Time:1:45.129 in lap 1

MX2 – Qualifying Race – Classification

1 122 Ferrandis, Dylan FRA FFM Kawasaki 25:25.891
2 84 Herlings, Jeffrey NED KNMV KTM 25:26.674
3 259 Coldenhoff, Glenn NED KNMV Suzuki 25:31.806
4 911 Tixier, Jordi FRA FFM KTM 25:33.032
5 99 Anstie, Max GBR ACU Yamaha 25:35.109
6 461 Febvre, Romain FRA FFM Husqvarna 25:39.094
7 200 Tonus, Arnaud SUI FMS Kawasaki 25:53.382
8 59 Tonkov, Aleksandr RUS MFR Husqvarna 26:02.853
9 152 Petrov, Petar BUL BMF Yamaha 26:08.815
10 141 Desprey, Maxime FRA FFM Honda 26:13.354
11 8 Lupino, Alessandro ITA FMI Kawasaki 26:17.279
12 92 Guillod, Valentin SUI FMS KTM 26:20.805
13 33 Lieber, Julien BEL FMB Suzuki 26:23.254
14 91 Seewer, Jeremy SUI FMS Suzuki 26:23.777
15 243 Gajser, Tim SLO AMZS Honda 26:28.743
16 119 Pocock, Mel GBR ACU KTM 26:40.703
17 23 Charlier, Christophe FRA FFM Yamaha 26:42.111
18 26 Styke, Luke AUS MA Yamaha 26:43.857
19 17 Butron, Jose ESP RFME KTM 26:48.876
20 195 Justs, Roberts LAT LAMSF Husqvarna 27:03.354
21 274 Lundgren, Anton SWE SVEMO Yamaha 27:07.778
22 71 Valente, Christopher SUI FMS TM 27:14.137
23 300 Golovkin, Viacheslav RUS FMI KTM 27:15.401
24 400 Yamamoto, Kei JPN MFJ Honda 27:17.216
25 67 Klingsheim, Magne NOR NMF Yamaha 26:11.553
26 155 Otsuka, Gota JPN MFJ Honda 26:14.896
27 64 Covington, Thomas USA AMA Kawasaki 26:31.023
28 50 Penjan, Thanarat THA FMSCT Kawasaki 26:57.238
29 114 Lancelot, Livia FRA FFM Kawasaki 27:02.928
Best lap: #122 Dylan Ferrandis Time:1:47.378 in lap 6

Bookmark and Share