Gajser and Herlings Top Again

FIM MX World Champs 2016

maddix park mx

KEGUMS (Latvia), 30 April 2016 – Don’t judge a book by its cover. The track here in Kegums has a warm brown sandy appearance that looks light and fluffy and a load of fun, at least for those that stand trackside. For those that are out on the track racing, it is an entirely different beast as the hard base is deceivingly slick in places and gets extremely rough with massive high speed braking bumps into the turns, and sharp acceleration bumps out.

On board with BT : Ben Townley said: “Rubbish start and then I had to stop behind Tanel Leok who had crashed and lost some time. I charged right up to Shaun in fifth and was trying to pass him on the inside but he squared the corner and we came together. It was a big collision and I must have got my finger caught in there somewhere. I was down in 12th and fought back to seventh. I feel great on the track and I reckon I have a podium ‘chance’ in me but I need to sort out the start.”

Although the track got the better of Honda Gariboldi’s Tim Gajser back in 2014 when he broke his back at the Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations, that certainly wasn’t playing on his mind today as he snatched the lead from Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli in the final stages of the race to take his third consecutive Qualifying Race win. Meanwhile, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings remains unbeaten making it six from six.

Highlights MXGP Qualifying

Adding to the action of the sixth round of the FIM Motocross World Championship was the first races of second round of the European Championship EMX250, which was won byBodo Schmidt Husqvarna’s Thomas Kjer Olsen and the second round of the EMX300 Presented by FMF Racing which was won by Mike Kras. In addition, the first round of theEuropean Championship EMX125 Presented by FMF Racing took place with Sahkar Racing KTM’s Jago Geerts winning the opening race.


There was carnage at the start of the MXGP Qualifier as the two riders that were fastest in Timed Practice Team HRC’s Evgeny Bobryshev and Monster Energy DRT Kawasaki’s Tommy Searle crashed ¾ of the way down the start straight after Honda Gariboldi’s Tim Gajser tagged Bobby and ripped the ‘bars out of his hands. Searle rejoined the race but crashed again on his own a little bit later, while Bobby was less fortunate and looked uncomfortable as he walked towards the medical center.

Gajser wasn’t collected in the crash and came out of the first turn in second behind Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli who went on to lead the entire race except the final three laps.

Meanwhile Team Suzuki World MXGP’s Kevin Strijbos kept the leaders in check for the most part of the race while a tight battle for fourth took place between Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing’s duo of Jeremy Van Horebeek and Romain Febvre and WilvoVirus Performance KTM’s Shaun Simpson. When Febvre sees huge kickers, he just hammers the throttle, which is exactly the technique he used to get around Simpson for fifth.

In the latter stages of the race Gajser unleashed the beast, pinning it through the waves and up the inside of Cairoli to take the lead and his third consecutive qualifying heat win. Van Horebeek, on the other hand, hit the boost button on the final lap and took third making his fellow Belgian, Strijbos the filling in a Yam sandwich as Febvre rounded out the top five.

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Max Nagl looked awesome out here in Kegums as he launched the ski jumps bigger than anyone else on his way to sixth from outside the top ten, while Team Suzuki World MXGP’s Ben Townley made his return to the championship with a seventh ahead of Simpson.

MXGP Qualifying Race Top Ten: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 24:20.229; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.633; 3. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:04.146; 4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:05.302; 5. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:11.279; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:20.021; 7. Ben Townley (NZL, Suzuki), +0:34.507; 8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:35.725; 9. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:36.502; 10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:40.339



Team Suzuki World MX2’s Jeremy Seewer was revved up when the gates dropped for the MX2 Qualifying Race. He got a killer jump and pulled across on Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings, who was on the inside of him, to nabb the holeshot. Chasing the duo was Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Pauls JonassHSF Logistic Motorsport KTM’s Brian Bogers and Kemea Yamaha Official MX Team’s Benoit Paturel.

Back to Seewer, he put in an epic ride for the first two laps complete with big whips beforeThe Bullet, Herlings, scrubbed past him for the lead. Jonass soon got around Seewer as well but couldn’t match the lap times of his teammate to even think about challenging for the win. 

In the meantime, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Max Anstie was on the gas and blitzed past Paturel and Bogers to take over fourth and then chomped down a hefty gap to challenge Seewer for third. Anstie threw everything but the kitchen sink at the Suzuki rider but in the end couldn’t get the job done and had to settle for fourth.

Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Dylan Ferrandis had a good race considering it’s his first since the season opener in Qatar. The doctor only gave him the ‘OK’ to ride one week ago, so he hasn’t had much time on the bike. Nevertheless, he was pinned and came from outside the top ten to finish fifth.

Highlights MX2 Qualifying

MX2 Qualifying Race Top Ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 23:57.717; 2. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:18.347; 3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +0:19.756; 4. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:28.318; 5. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:54.432; 6. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, KTM), +0:58.671; 7. Petar Petrov (BUL, Kawasaki), +0:59.859; 8. Brent Van doninck (BEL, Yamaha), +1:00.204; 9. Benoit Paturel (FRA, Yamaha), +1:04.700; 10. Michele Cervellin (ITA, Honda), +1:09.890.



Click here to obtain the complete results

All the photos of the MXGP of Latvia will be available here

 EMX 250 Race 1 : 

Josiah Natzke  26th, Lawrence Hunter 4th  Kjer Olsen, Vaessen and Heibye were the first 3.


Circuit length: 1540m

Type of ground: Hard sand

Temperature: 22°C

Weather conditions: sunny

Bookmark and Share