Herlings & Desalle win Saturday

MXGP Portugal

maddix park mx

www.mxlarge.com  By Geoff Meyer

Dutchman Jeffrey Herlings (KTM) and Belgian Clement Desalle (Suzuki) have won the MX2 and MX1 qualification races at the Grand Prix of Portugal today. Under beautiful condition and around a slightly dusty and drying Agueda circuit

Herlings claimed an easy win in the MX2 qualification race, beating home Red Bull KTM team mate Jordi Tixier and Monster Energy Yamaha rider Christophe Charlier. Herlings led from the opening lap until the end, eventually winning by nearly 40 seconds.

Dutchman Glenn Coldenhoff finished fourth after a solid ride. Max Anstie came from 13th place on lap one to finish fast in 6th place, while on the other side of the coin another British rider Mel Pocock went down after holding down fifth place on lap one and finished in 23rd place.

American James Decotis failed to finish and was rewarded with 26th position on the grid tomorrow.

In the MX1 it was a quick start from Honda rider Tanel Leok lead the opening lap, but Gautier Paulin and Desalle passed early, with those two having a nice little battle. Antonio Cairoli went down early to drop to 11th place, also in trouble was Kevin Strijbos who crashed, and Shaun Simpson cruised around in the opening lap, also in trouble.

Desalle eventually passed Paulin and took the win, followed by Paulin, De Dycker, Cairoli and Leok in 5th place.Strijbos did well to climb to 12th position.

Top image Ray Archer

MX2 qualification: 1. Herlings, 2. Tixier, 3. Charlier, 4. Coldenhoff, 5. Ferrandis, 6. Anstie, 7. Butron, 8. Tonkov, 9. Ferris, 10. Lupino, 11. Nicholls, 12. Desprey, 13. Clerment, 14. Kullas, 15. Heibye

MX1 qualification: 1. Desalle, 2. Paulin, 3. De Dycker, 4. Cairoli, 5. Leok, 6. Nagl, 7. Searle, 8. Van Horebeek, 9. Roelants, 10. Philippaerts, 11. Goncalves, 12. Strijbos, 13. Barragan, 14. Justs, 15. Tiainen

Bookmark and Share