Saturday 22nd & Sunday 23rd January all tracks open from 9.00 - dark. Mini track is in good condition, the MX is dry and a bit rough in places (cannot be groomed until we get rain). The Trail loops are in great condition and a good ride to escape some of the heat.


Hill & Faith New Points Leaders

Australian Supercross

maddix park mx

The 2013 Terex Australian Supercross Championship has two new points leaders following a thrilling Phillip Island weekend alongside the Tissot Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

American Josh Hill (Hart & Huntington/InsureMyRide/DPH Suzuki) won on Sunday to take over the lead in the SX-Open ranks, taking advantage of injured countryman Weston Peick (Carlton Dry Honda), who broke his collarbone in qualifying less than 24 hours after claiming the red plates.

The main event today saw Hill streak to his second victory of the season, topping the 20-lap final by 4.480 seconds over Matt Moss (Motul Pirelli Suzuki). Completing the podium was impressive Victorian rookie Sam Martin (DPH Motorsport Suzuki) in third.

 (Picture above: Josh Hill claimed his second 450 main event to take over the points lead. Image: Grant Reynolds/FiftySix Clix).

Fourth today was Motorex KTM’s Daniel McCoy, one ahead of Jake Moss (Campbell Mining Suzuki), who dropped out of a podium position at the halfway point. Earlier, Moss missed qualifying after being struck with illness overnight.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s defending champion Jay Marmont was sixth after closing the opening lap in eighth, while Jacob Wright (Tattoo Racing Honda), Lewis Woods (Hart & Huntington/Snapes Logistics Suzuki), Hayden Mellross (Carlton Dry Honda Racing) and Callum Dickson (Dicksons Port Lincoln Honda) filled positions seven through 10.

South Australian Brett Metcalfe (Milwaukee/ADR/SIC Racing Kawasaki) exited the race on lap four.

Gavin Faith made it two from two at the Island to lead the 250 series. Image: Grant Reynolds/FiftySix Clix.

Gavin Faith made it two from two at the Island to lead the 250 series. Image: Grant Reynolds/FiftySix Clix.

The championship is now led by Hill on 103 points with one round remaining, five ahead of Matt Moss, and Jake Moss a further two behind. Peick was demoted to fourth after sitting out today.

Another American in Gavin Faith (Carlton Dry Honda Racing) claimed the SX-Lites red plates at Phillip Island today, making it back-to-back race victories for the weekend with a 14.526-second buffer.

Faith was again supreme aboard the 2014 Honda CRF250R, heading Ryan Marmont (Raceline Pirelli Suzuki) and Victorian privateer Dylan Long (KTM). Marmont worked his way past Long in the dying stages of the race for the runner-up.

Jay Wilson remains perfect in the Under 19s title race. Image: Grant Reynolds/FiftySix Clix.

Jay Wilson remains perfect in the Under 19s title race. Image: Grant Reynolds/FiftySix Clix.

Former series leader Luke Styke (Serco Yamaha) was fourth for the second day in a row, sitting in that position throughout the entire 15-lap affair. Another privateer, Taylor Potter (Honda), was fifth.

Series leader Jay Wilson (GYTR Yamaha) added a fourth straight win in the Under 19s to stretch his championship advantage, winning by 6.637 seconds from Jake Emanuelli (Raceline Pirelli Suzuki) and Joel Wightman (Yamaha).

The Women’s championship went to Meghan Rutledge (Kawasaki) in a clinical performance, winning all three races today at Phillip Island to claim the third round win over Sayaka Kaneshiro (Honda) and Jessica Patterson. In the series it was Rutledge who won the number one plate in its inaugural running, from international duo Patterson and Kaneshiro.

Meg Rutledge won the first ever Australian Women's Supercross Championship. Image: Grant Reynolds/FiftySix Clix.

Meg Rutledge won the first ever Australian Women’s Supercross Championship. Image: Grant Reynolds/FiftySix Clix.

Australian Supercross will resume with the sixth and final round at Toowoomba in Queensland on Saturday, 16 November.

2013 Australian Supercross Championship
Round five – Phillip Island, VIC

SX-Open main event results:
1. Josh HILL
2. Matt MOSS
4. Daniel McCOY
5. Jake MOSS
7. Jacob WRIGHT
8. Lewi WOODS
9. Hayden MELLROSS
10. Callum DICKSON
11. Brett METCALFE

SX-Open championship standings (after five of six rounds):
1. Josh HILL 103
2. Matt MOSS 98
3. Jake MOSS 96
4. Weston PEICK 83
5. Daniel McCOY 81
6. Jay MARMONT 79
7. Sam MARTIN 69
8. Lewi WOODS 42
9. Kade MOSIG 40
10. Jacob WRIGHT 37
11. Hayden MELLROSS 36
12. Kirk GIBBS 31
13. Lawson BOPPING 28
14. Brett METCALFE 20
15. Tim VARE 20
16. Mat HAWORTH 20
17. Phillip BODEY 16
18. Callum DICKSON 11
19. Callan DICKSON 9
20. Brad MATHESON 8

SX-Lites main event results:
1. Gavin FAITH
3. Dylan LONG
4. Luke STYKE
5. Taylor POTTER
6. Brenden HARRISON
7. Kayne LAMONT
8. Nickolas SUTHERLAND
10. Luke ARBON
11. Tristen CACHIA
12. Luke WILSON
13. Ryan ZIEPES
14. Allister KENT
15. Boyd HOCKING
16. Nicholas GECK

SX-Lites championship standings (after five of six rounds):
1. Gavin FAITH 115
2. Luke STYKE 110
3. Ryan MARMONT 102
4. Dylan LONG 84
5. Taylor POTTER 70
6. Kayne LAMONT 68
7. Brenden HARRISON 64
8. Luke ARBON 59
9. Nickolas SUTHERLAND 55
10. Luke WILSON 47
11. Tristen CACHIA 43
12. Boyd HOCKING 38
13. Rhys DORREEN 33
14. Kale MAKEHAM 31
15. Ryan ZIEPES 25
16. Nicholas GECK 21
17. Allister KENT 15
18. Daniel CHALLEN 14
19. Daniel McINNES 11

Under 19s main event results:
4. Corey JAMES
5. Tristan DUNCAN
6. Izak MAULE
8. Bailey COXON
9. James BROWN
10. Elijah WIESE
11. Jonathan KRUSIC
12. Jake KATS
13. Tim O’BRIEN

Under 19s championship standings (after four of five rounds):
1. Jay WILSON 100
2. Jake EMANUELLI 78
3. Joel WIGHTMAN 78
4. Corey JAMES 78
5. Jake DONAHER 61
6. Izak MAULE 54
7. Bailey COXON 52
8. James BROWN 49
9. Elijah WIESE 45
10. Tim O’BRIEN 39
11. Jonathan KRUSIC 20
12. Jake KATS 19
13. Tristan DUNCAN 16
14. Jett ANDERSON 16
15. Jesse McNALLY 14
16. Jordan WATERS 11

Women’s round three overall results:
1. Meghan RUTLEDGE 75
2. Sayaka KANESHIRO 64
3. Jessica PATTERSON 62
4. Maddy BROWN 54
5. Taylor JONES 48

Women’s championship standings (after three of three rounds):
1. Meghan RUTLEDGE 197
2. Jessica PATTERSON 169
3. Sayaka KANESHIRO 166
4. Maddy BROWN 109
5. Taylor JONES 80
6. Tamika EDWARDS 69
7. Kaitlyn WAKARTSCHUK 62

Click here for detailed results

Bookmark and Share