Saturday 22nd & Sunday 23rd January all tracks open from 9.00 - dark. Mini track is in good condition, the MX is dry and a bit rough in places (cannot be groomed until we get rain). The Trail loops are in great condition and a good ride to escape some of the heat.


Mike Brown wins Season Opener

AMA Endurocross

maddix park mx EnduroCross News

Factory FMF/KTM rider Mike Brown topped the podium for the first time in the opening round of the AMA EnduroCross Series in the Orleans Arena, Las Vegas.

Red Bull KTM Factory rider and reigning AMA EnduroCross Champion, Taddy Blazusiak finished second overall.

Brown put in a near faultless ride and made the technical track look easy as he worked toward his win.

The AMA EnduroCross Series added a new element to its night show line-up for the 2013 season where the twelve riders that qualify for the main event ride in hot laps with the fastest person getting first gate pick. Brown again took the honor of holding the top spot after turning a 40.1. Blazusiak earned the second choice spot with a time of 40.2.

The two riders choose the two inside gates for the start of the main event. Just as predicted, they rounded the first corner in that order with Brown taking the holeshot and Blazusiak in second. They locked into those positions throughout the 12-lap main event. Colton Haaker rounded off the podium.

“It feels so great to get my first win tonight." Brown commented. "I’ve been training hard and working toward this goal for a few years now and everything finally feels right.

"I am extremely grateful to my team that has been behind me this season and built me a great bike. I hope to carry my momentum into the next round and work toward a championship,” stated Brown.

Blazusiak was also happy with his performance.

“I struggled a little bit with bike set-up this morning but everything was improved for the main event." Blazusiak stated. "I am happy to start the season off on the podium but I definitely have a goal of being on the top step and will shoot for that at the next round.”

KTM riders also stood on the top two steps in the the women’s event, with Shelby Turner and Chantelle Bykerk taking the two top spots.

The seven round season continues in Sacramento, CA on the 8th of June 8.

Overall Results Pro Class
1. Mike Brown
2. Taddy Blazusiak
3. Colton Haaker
4. Cody Webb
5. Geoff Aaron

Overall Results Women’s Class
1. Shelby Turner
2. Chantelle Bykerk
3. Rachel Gutish
4. Maria Forsberg
5. Sarah Whitmore

Top Image: Mike Brown one the opening round of the AMA Enduro-X Championship
Credit: KTM Images

Bookmark and Share