Saturday 22nd & Sunday 23rd January all tracks open from 9.00 - dark. Mini track is in good condition, the MX is dry and a bit rough in places (cannot be groomed until we get rain). The Trail loops are in great condition and a good ride to escape some of the heat.


Moss Makes it 2 Titles in a Row

Australian MX Champs 2014

maddix park mx

Season closes with Mackenzie victory at Coolum's final round. lick here for race highlights.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Team Motul Suzuki’s Matt Moss wrapped up his second straight Monster Energy MX Nationals championship on Sunday at Coolum, in a round won by CDR Yamaha’s Billy Mackenzie.

In moto one title contender Kirk Gibbs clawed his way to the race win, fending off a fast-finishing Jacob Wright (CDR Yamaha), while early leader Billy Mackenzie (CDR Yamaha) crossed the line third.

Former world champion Ben Townley was fourth in his final appearance with Penrite Honda, as fifth for Matt Moss after an early crash saw Gibbs narrow the gap from 36 after Super Pole to 26.

The second moto again featured Mackenzie up front in the early stages, until Townley made gains in the closing stages and took over at the front for a surprise moto win.

Townley won over Mackenzie and Gibbs, with Kade Mosig (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) bouncing back from a DNF in moto one to finish fourth ahead of Matt Moss, who went down once more. That left Gibbs’ deficit in the standings at 24 points entering the final moto.

Moto three was all Mackenzie out front and this time he held on for the moto win, which sealed him the overall win on countback after tying with Gibbs.

Second in the final moto was Gibbs from Jake Moss, NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki teammate Adam Monea, Wright and four-time title winner Jay Marmont in his final professional moto for CDR Yamaha. He ended the round eighth overall and championship in 12th.

An eighth in moto three for Matt Moss was enough to claim the title; his second in a row for the Jay Foreman-led factory Suzuki outfit on board the RM-Z450.

Overall for the round Mackenzie topped the podium over Gibbs and Wright, with moto two winner Townley fourth also on countback behind Wright. Monea completed the top five ahead of Matt Moss in sixth overall.

The championship belonged to Moss, this time from Gibbs and Mackenzie, who was comfortably ahead of Monea and teenage revelation Wright.

2014 Monster Energy MX Nationals
Round 10 – Coolum, VIC

MX1 overall results:
1. Billy Mackenzie 97
2. Kirk Gibbs 97
3. Jacob Wright 82
4. Ben Townley 82
5. Adam Monea 77
6. Matt Moss 74
7. Jake Moss 70
8. Jay Marmont 68
9. Lawson Bopping 64
10. Brock Winston 63
11. Jesse Dobson 61
12. Hayden Mellross 56
13. Dean Porter 49
14. Sam Martin 45
15. Brad Groombridge 41
16. Mitch Taylor 40
17. Lewis Woods 38
18. Charlie Creech 35
19. Tim Vare 31
20. Jesse O’Farrell 29

MX1 championship standings:
1. Matt Moss 789
2. Kirk Gibbs 776
3. Billy Mackenzie 734
4. Adam Monea 692
5. Jacob Wright 611
6. Jake Moss 599
7. Hayden Mellross 528
8. Kade Mosig 528
9. Sam Martin 481
10. Brock Winston 478
11. Jesse Dobson 473
12. Jay Marmont 430
13. Lewis Woods 429
14. Rhys Carter 351
15. James Booth Elliott 234
16. Ben Townley 221
17. Jesse O’Farrell 188
18. Brad Groombridge 172
19. Lawson Bopping 156
20. Joel Milesevic 153

Click here for detailed result

Bookmark and Share