Saturday 29th, Sunday 30th & Monday 31st January: All tracks open. We have had some welcome rain so have been able to rip and tidy the MX track, the mini is in good condition and the trails are great. The Red Light change will not bring changes at Maddix Park. * No vaccine passes are required as all are welcome on any day that we are open. (Check FB or Website for updates on open days or phone 07 5442251). * No pre-booking is required. * We will provide specific details when you sign in regarding "defined space" parking to comply with COVID regulations.


Stewart Wins the Cup

Monster Energy Cup

maddix park mx






Somebody was gonna win, and going into the last moto it could have been almost anyone—but it was Bubba

There was nothing to separate Stewart, Dungey, Roczen, Villopoto, Tomac and Musquin on an old school track with old-school hardpack dirt. But, the race boiled down to these three facts: 

(1) Ryan Dungey forgot to do the required Joker Lane and was penalized 5 spots in moto one.

(2) Ryan Villopoto mistimed a step-on step off and stepped off (after winning moto one)—ending his night early.

(3) James Stewart turned the step-on, step-off into a straight triple by jumping the whole thing—and that was what handed him the win.
So says

And from   ... In front of 33,845 fans at Sam Boyd Stadium and live on FOX Sports 2, Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart, who won two of the three Main Events, captured the first Monster Energy Cup of his career and cashed in on the $100,000 prize on the Ricky Carmichael-designed track. 

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, who won the 2011 Monster Energy Cup, raced to the Toyota Holeshot Award in Main Event #1 edging out Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer and Dean Wilson followed in third and fourth respectively. 

Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin moved into third place after moving past Wilson and Weimer. On Lap 9, Villopoto rode through the Joker Lane, a rugged sand section that the riders have to pass through at least once in each Main Event, and Dungey moved into the lead. 

Heading into the final lap, Dungey failed to ride through the Joker Lane and was assessed a five-position penalty, which gave him sixth place. Villopoto earned the win with Musquin in second and Weimer in third. 

“It is definitely a chance (to win the $1 million),” said Villopoto. “I still need to get two more good starts and it’s not going to be easy. “On the last lap, I thought he (Dungey) had already rode through the Joke Lane, but, apparently, he did not.” 

In Main Event #2, Stewart out-raced Villopoto through the Toyota Holeshot and set the stage for an epic 10-lap race. Dungey moved into the number-three position through turn one but was passed by defending Monster Energy Cup Champion Justin Barcia

Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen passed Dungey on Lap 2 as the battle up front between Stewart and Villopoto ensued. On Laps 5 and 8, the two traded places. Stewart protected his lead and rode to his first-ever Main Event win at the Monster Energy Cup. Villopoto, who did not go through the Joker Lane, crashed on the last lap and was unable to finish the race. Barcia finished second and Dungey finished third. 

After finishing fourth in the first two Main Events, Roczen won the Toyota Holeshot in Main Event #3. Stewart made quick work of Dungey for the number-two position. On Lap 4, Stewart passed Roczen for the lead and rode to victory. Dungey finished second and GIECO Honda’s Eli Tomac finished third. 

“You don’t understand how special this is for me,” said Stewart. “I am speechless right now; this is a huge win for me and I am pretty damn happy. I know we are making the right steps to get our program to where it needs to be.” 

The Dirt Shark Biggest Whip contest presented by Nuclear Cowboyz hosted a seven-rider prizefight for the $15,000 purse. After earning his spot in the Main Event through the afternoon qualifying session, Tom Parsons earned the lion’s share of the prize money, followed by Edgar Torronteras and Australian Jarryd McNeil

Monster Energy Cup Class Overall Results:
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki (8-1-1)
2. Ryan Dungey, Bell Plaine, Minn., KTM (6-3-2)
3. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM (4-4-4)
4. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (5-6-3)
5. Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM (2-9-8)
6. Cole Seely, Murrieta, Calif., Honda (13-7-5)
7. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki (10-8-9)
8. Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda (7-2-18)
9. Dean Wilson, Wesley Chapel, Fla., Kawasaki (20-5-6)
10. Josh Grant, Corona, Calif., Yamaha (15-10-7)

11. Andrew Short 12-11-10
12. Cooper Webb 9-12-16
13. Tyler Bowers 14-13-15
14. Matt Goerke 18-14-11
15. Ryan Villopoto 1-21-21
16. Nick Wey 17-15-12
17. Jake Weimer 3-22-19 
18. Kyle Chisholm 16-16-14
19. Jimmy Albertson 19-18-13
20. Malcolm Stewart 11-19-22
21. Chris Blose 22-17-17
22. Zach Osborne 21-20-20

Bookmark and Share