Saturday 29th, Sunday 30th & Monday 31st January: All tracks open. We have had some welcome rain so have been able to rip and tidy the MX track, the mini is in good condition and the trails are great. The Red Light change will not bring changes at Maddix Park. * No vaccine passes are required as all are welcome on any day that we are open. (Check FB or Website for updates on open days or phone 07 5442251). * No pre-booking is required. * We will provide specific details when you sign in regarding "defined space" parking to comply with COVID regulations.


Tonus & Cairoli Take Brazil

FIM MX World Champs 2014

maddix park mx
Italian legend Antonio Cairoli has won the MXGP Grand Prix of Brazil with a stunning 1-1 performance. Second overall was Clement Desalle and third place Jeremy Van Horebeek.

In winning the GP Cairoli extended his points lead to 30 points over Gautier Paulin and Jeremy Van Horebeek who are equal second. Amazingly Paulin, Van Horebeek, Desalle and Nagl are only split by two points in the series points, so there is a big battle for second place at the moment.

After that group there is another group led by Kevin Strijbos where only 12 points seperates sixth placed Strijbos to 10th places Joel Roelants.

In the opening MXGP moto it was Belgian Jeremy Van Horebeek who led ahead of Evgeny Bobryshev, Todd Waters, Antonio Cairoli, Clement Desalle, Rui Goncalves, Max Nagl, David Philippaerts, Steven Frossard, and Jake Nicholls in 10th.

Cairoli didn’t waste time as he charged into second place and Waters dropped to fifth as Cairoli and Desalle went past. Paulin was buried in 12th position after four laps and Simpson was even worse off in 20th.

Cairoli was looking for a way past Van Horebeek as the Italian continued his consistent approach to the season. Cairoli blasted into the lead and within a couple of laps had an eight second lead. Nagl passed Waters for fifth place, and Nicholls moved up to 8th place.

On lap nine Desalle and Nagl both passed Bobryshev and Paulin passed Nicholls to move into 8th place. Waters was onto the back wheel of Bobryshev and looking for a way past, while the top ten was Cairoli, Van Horebeek, Desalle, Nagl, Bobryshev, Waters, Philippaerts, Paulin, Nicholls and Roelants.

By lap 13 Cairoli’s lead was 12 seconds ahead of Van Horebeek, with Desalle third, then came Nagl, Bobryshev, Waters, Paulin, Roelants, Philippaerts and Goncalves in 10th. Best British riders were Nicholls in 11th and Simpson in 15th.

Just as he did in Thailand Waters was closing in on Bobyshev and looking for a way past as the race came to its close. Waters though didn’t get lucky as Paulin made a pass on the Aussie, dropping the Husky rider to seventh place.

The final finishing positions were Cairoli by 15 seconds, Van Horebeek, Desalle, Nagl, Bobryshev, Paulin, Waters, Roelants, Philippaerts and Goncalves.

In the second moto it was more of the same as Cairoli dominated his rivals to win the moto and the GP. Gautier Paulin led the opening five laps to finally finish second to Cairoli, and third in the moto was Clement Desalle.

MXGP – Overall Classification

1 222 Cairoli, Antonio ITA FMI KTM 25 25 50
2 25 Desalle, Clement BEL FMB SUZ 20 20 40
3 89 Van Horebeek, Jeremy BEL FMB YAM 22 18 40
4 21 Paulin, Gautier FRA MCM KAW 15 22 37
5 12 Nagl, Maximilian GER DMSB HON 18 16 34
6 999 Goncalves, Rui POR FMP YAM 11 14 25
7 47 Waters, Todd AUS MA HUS 14 11 25
8 22 Strijbos, Kevin BEL FMB SUZ 8 15 23
9 34 Roelants, Joel BEL FMB HON 13 10 23
10 183 Frossard, Steven FRA FFM KAW 7 12 19

MXGP – Championship Classification

1 222 Cairoli, A. ITA KTM 142
2 21 Paulin, G. FRA KAW 112
3 89 Van Horebeek, J. BEL YAM 112
4 25 Desalle, C. BEL SUZ 111
5 12 Nagl, M. GER HON 110
6 22 Strijbos, K. BEL SUZ 73
7 183 Frossard, S. FRA KAW 68
8 47 Waters, Todd AUS HUS 68
9 777 Bobryshev, E. RUS HON 67
10 34 Roelants, Joel BEL HON 61

MX 2

tonus wins
Monster Energy CLS Kawasaki rider Arnaud Tonus has won the Grand Prix of Brazil in the MX2 class. The Swizz rider went 1-2 for the overall victory and in doing so also took over the control of the red plate. Second overall was Glenn Coldenhoff and third Max Anstie.

Tonus is now 15 points ahead of former red-plate owner Jeffrey Herlings and just two ahead of Coldenhoff.

In the opening MX2 moto Jose Butron pulled the holeshot ahead of Tonus, Tonkov, Febvre, Coldenhoff, Guillod, Pocock, Seewer, Gajser, Ferrandis, Desprey, Lieber, Anstie, Petrov and Lupino in 15th place. Well back was Tixier in 17th.

Tonus quickly took the lead on lap one, and Guillod and Coldenhoff passed Febvre. Tonus quickly pulled a gap on the others as he held nearly three seconds over Butron. Covington crashed and dropped well back.

Anstie was back in 11th place and just ahead of him was fellow British rider Pocock after running off the track. Pocock though continued to drop back in the pack and Ferrandis remained in seventh spot.

Up front the lead by Tonus was five seconds on lap four and Anstie moved up to 8th place as Pocock held 19th position. Tonkov was looking at passing Butron for second place. Ferrandis passed Febvre for sixth and moved closer to passing Herlings for the series points lead.

A little battle for 13th place as Petroc, Lupino, Tixier and Styke battled for those spots. After five laps it was Tonus, Butron, Tonkov, Coldenhoff, Guillod, Ferrandis, Febvre, Anstie, Seewer and Desprey in 10th.

After eight laps the lead was now 10 seconds and Anstie was up to seventh spot after passing Guillod. Ferrandis was also up to fifth after also passing Guillod.

Desprey was in trouble as he dropped off the pace, moving Petrov, Tixier and Styke up to 12th, 13th and 14th. Tonus was riding brilliantly as he extended the lead to 13 seconds on lap 10 and Tonkov, Ferrandis and Febvre battled for third place.

Butrons race went all wrong as he made a mistake and dropped back to 8th place, that of course moved everyone up a place, and Ferrandis was on fire passing Tonkov for second place. Top five after 12 laps was Tonus, Ferrandis, Tonkov, Febvre and Coldenhoff.

Tonkov lost placed to both Anstie and Coldenhoff in the dying stages as Tonus wins by 13 seconds to Ferrandis, Febvre, Anstie, Coldenhoff, Tonkov, Guillod, Petrov, Butron, and Seewer in 10th.

Second MX2 moto and Ferrandis leads early from Coldenhoff, Gajser, Tonkov, Guillod, Tonus, Seewer, Lupino, Butron and Covington in 10th.  Way back were Tixier and Febvre, in 22nd and 26th places respectively.

Ferrandis crashed and dropped out of the picture, way back in 12th place, handing the lead to Coldenhoff, with Gajser second, Tonkove third and Anstie had moved up to sixth spot.

Coldenhoff was too good though, winning the moto, while Tonus claimed second place in the moto and the GP overall.

MX2 – GP Classification

1 200 Tonus, Arnaud SUI FMS KAW 25 22 47
2 259 Coldenhoff, Glenn NED KNMV SUZ 16 25 41
3 99 Anstie, Max GBR ACU YAM 18 18 36
4 122 Ferrandis, Dylan FRA FFM KAW 22 11 33
5 243 Gajser, Tim SLO AMZS HON 10 20 30
6 92 Guillod, Valentin SUI FMS KTM 14 16 30
7 461 Febvre, Romain FRA FFM HUS 20 10 30
8 59 Tonkov, Aleksandr RUS MFR HUS 15 14 29
9 91 Seewer, Jeremy SUI FMS SUZ 11 15 26
10 17 Butron, Jose ESP RFME KTM 12 12 24
11 911 Tixier, Jordi FRA FFM KTM 9 9 18
12 119 Pocock, Mel GBR ACU KTM 6 8 14
13 26 Styke, Luke AUS MA YAM 7 7 14

MX2 – World Championship Classification

1 200 Tonus, Arnaud SUI KAW 112
2 259 Coldenhoff, G. NED SUZ 110
3 122 Ferrandis, D. FRA KAW 107
4 84 Herlings, J. NED KTM 97
5 461 Febvre, Romain FRA HUS 96
6 59 Tonkov, A. RUS HUS 87
7 99 Anstie, Max GBR YAM 77
8 911 Tixier, Jordi FRA KTM 77
9 17 Butron, Jose ESP KTM 74
10 243 Gajser, Tim SLO HON 63

Bookmark and Share