Saturday 22nd & Sunday 23rd January all tracks open from 9.00 - dark. Mini track is in good condition, the MX is dry and a bit rough in places (cannot be groomed until we get rain). The Trail loops are in great condition and a good ride to escape some of the heat.


Top in Trentino Qualifying

FIM MX World Champs 2015

maddix park mx
Click here for the MX GP Highlights (Qualifying) and the MX2 Highlights  (Qualifying) and the EMX 125 Race 1 Highlights (with NZ's Josiah Natzke). 

While it was only qualifying, the racing we witnessed today at round four of the FIM Motocross World Championship in Pietramurata was by far the climax of the season so far. It was intense beyond belief with three different MXGP race leaders going down. Both FIM World Champions Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli and Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Ryan Villopoto crashed in the same rut but on different laps, while Team HRC’s Gautier Paulin washed out a few turns after the finish line all on his own.

Not necessarily taking full advantage of the carnage, as he was in fact the fastest guy on the track all day, Team HRC’s Evgeny Bobryshev mastered the tricky, slick and chopped up surface here in Pietramurata to take his first ever qualifying heat win, as well as the first win of 2015 for Honda. Meanwhile nothing was out of the ordinary in MX2 with Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings taking his fourth consecutive qualifying heat victory.

If the MXGP qualifying race here at MXGP of Trentino is setting the standard for race day, we are in for a treat. Right from gate drop, the race was bound to be epic. Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli took the holeshot, which typically results in a check-out performance, except when you have the likes of Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Ryan Villopoto and Team HRC’s Gautier Paulin hot on your tail.

So there it was. The race we had all been waiting for. Three of the most highly regarded riders going one, two and three around turn one. While initially Cairoli appeared to be in control, Paulin, who was feeling the pressure from his Team HRC teammate Evgeny Bobryshev surprisingly dropped the hammer on RV2 and took over second.

While our attention shifted to the impressiveness of Paulin’s speed, Cairoli crashed! The crowd, being Italians went nuts and as we all turned to see Cairoli peeling himself out of the mud, we also lost Paulin who had also made a mistake a few turns earlier.

So, in the matter of a lap Villopoto had the lead and flashbacks of Thailand were being spoken of. Would the American run away with it? We all knew it was possible.

Suddenly, the craziest race ever, just got a little crazier. Villopoto started picking up the pace, putting in that relentless charge he has become known for, while Bobryshev was dealing with the angry or hungry, depending on your perspective, duo of Cairoli and Paulin.  As Villopoto begun to distance himself over Bobryshev ever so slightly, he then threw it away in exactly the same rut that had caught Cairoli out earlier.

With Villopoto hitting the deck, Bobryshev found himself in the lead and managed to control it for the few laps that remained. Bobby qualified on pole for the first time in his career as Cairoli managed to bounce back for a narrow second over Paulin and Villopoto.

Meanwhile Yamaha Factory Racing Yamalube’s Romain Febvre put in another impressive ride for fifth after passing the early red plate holder Red Bull Husqvarna IceOne Factory Racing’s Max Nagl who ended up coming home in sixth.

As for the actual red plate holder, Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MXGP’s Clement Desalle, he collided withMonster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Tyla Rattray on lap one which resulted in Rattray receiving medical attention. Desalle did manage to remount, but was so far back, twenty-second place was the best he could do.

MX GP Qualifying
The MXGP qualifier looked like it would be a great race as Antonio Cairoli led from Gautier Paulin, Ryan Villopoto and Evgeny Bobryshev in the opening corners. Clement Desalle went down hard with Tyla Rattray, the South African taking a long walk to the medical centre for observation. Desalle who couldn’t get his bike started was dead-last as the rest of the field rocketed off into the distance.

The battle for first was interesting as Paulin closed in on Cairoli, but then the two crashed and dropped to third and fourth place, handing the lead to Villopoto, who was being hounded by Bobryshev. Further back came Romain Febvre, Max Nagl, Shaun Simpson, Ken De Dycker, Steven Frossard and Xavier Boog.

Villopoto then slipped over in a corner and dropped back to fourth place, but was riding well on the unfamiliar circuit.

In the end Bobryshev took the victory from Cairoli, Paulin, Villopoto and Febvre.

MXGP – Qualifying Race

1 777 Bobryshev, Evgeny RUS FSM Honda 25:03.328

2 222 Cairoli, Antonio ITA FMI KTM 25:05.165
3 21 Paulin, Gautier FRA MCM Honda 25:07.193
4 2 Villopoto, Ryan USA AMA Kawasaki 25:08.103
5 461 Febvre, Romain FRA FFM Yamaha 25:09.482
6 12 Nagl, Maximilian GER DMSB Husqvarna 25:10.388
7 24 Simpson, Shaun GBR ACU KTM 25:11.520
8 9 de Dycker, Ken BEL FMB KTM 25:28.863
9 183 Frossard, Steven FRA FFM KTM 25:32.296
10 121 Boog, Xavier FRA FFM Kawasaki 25:36.055
11 100 Searle, Tommy GBR ACU KTM 25:37.855
12 47 Waters, Todd AUS MA Husqvarna 25:38.964
13 19 Philippaerts, David ITA FMI Yamaha 25:40.527
14 23 Charlier, Christophe FRA FFM Honda 25:42.812
15 39 Guarneri, Davide ITA FMI TM 25:45.205

MX2 Qualifying

Herlings archer
With light rain falling and the circuit getting a little slippery Red Bull KTM Factory rider Jeffrey Herlings has won the MX2 qualifier after passing early leader Alexandr Tonkov on lap two. The race was pretty much won in those early laps as Herlings made a break from the other MX2 riders.

Dylan Ferrandis made a mistake early after holding down a top five spot, and dropped to 10th, before moving back into fourth place a the finish.

MX2 qualification race

1 84 Herlings, Jeffrey NED KNMV KTM 24:59.244
2 243 Gajser, Tim SLO AMZS Honda 25:13.711
3 1 Tixier, Jordi FRA FFM Kawasaki 25:19.755
4 4 Ferrandis, Dylan FRA FFM Kawasaki 25:22.419
5 92 Guillod, Valentin SUI FMS Yamaha 25:26.471
6 59 Tonkov, Aleksandr RUS MFR Husqvarna 25:27.901
7 41 Jonass, Pauls LAT LAMSF KTM 25:28.563
8 51 Getteman, Jens BEL FMB Honda 25:38.873
9 91 Seewer, Jeremy SUI FMS Suzuki 25:39.655
10 99 Anstie, Max GBR ACU Kawasaki 25:41.003
11 172 Van doninck, Brent BEL FMB Yamaha 25:42.733
12 6 Paturel, Benoit FRA FFM Yamaha 25:46.231
13 18 Brylyakov, Vsevolod RUS MFR Honda 25:50.928
14 919 Watson, Ben GBR ACU KTM 26:03.058
15 33 Lieber, Julien BEL FMB Yamaha 26:08.084

EMX 125 cc  Race 1

1. Glen Meier

2. Maxime renaux

3. Morgan Lesiardo

4. Jorge Prado Garcia

5. Stephen Rubini

6. Michele Baraiolo

7. Josiah Natzke

8. Filippo Zonta

9.  Davide Cislaghi

10. Conrad Mewse

Bookmark and Share