Tuesday 25th - Friday 28th January: Tracks closed each day but we will be open each day of the Long Weekend. Update for track conditions Friday evening.


Wednesday Report

Loretta Lynn's

maddix park mx

www.motorcycle-usa.com  By Byron Wilson


The 2013 Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by AMSOIL at Loretta Lynn’s was stalled by inclement weather on the second day of racing. Overnight rains had soaked the track, making for plenty of mud first thing in the morning, and conditions continued to look dubious through the first three motos of Wednesday’s competition. Officials delayed proceedings after the third moto, which ended close to 9 a.m., and didn’t resume racing until 3 p.m.

Prior to the delay, the Two-Stroke B/C (16+) class was able to complete its first moto of this year’s championship, with Jerry Robin earning the win (photo above). In true never-give-up fashion, Robin took his victory on borrowed machinery (a 2007 CR250) following a mechanical failure on the bike he intended to use in competition, a 1985 CR250. Later in the day Robin was able to get his “vintage” racer up and running, scoring a ninth-place result in the 250 B class.

Aaron Plessinger was the rider to take the checkers in 250 B, running a flawless race from start to finish. He grabbed the Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot Award in 250 B and led every lap, adding a second win to his record in this year’s championship following his 450 B Limited class victory on Tuesday.

Matt Bisceglia is another to remain undefeated through the first days of competition, having earned the Open Pro Sport moto 1 win on Tuesday and the 250 A moto on Wednesday. The muddy conditions challenged the Honda rider though, making for one of the most difficult races of his young career.

"This moto was so hard," said Bisceglia. "I didn't have the best of gate picks or the best of starts. I just had a bad rut in front of my gate. But my bike hooked up well once I made the first turn and I did what I could. I came out of the start about 10th, but made some smart passes on the first laps. From there I started catching guys little by little. I just rode smart. Most of the other guys fell. I was catching them a little bit, but probably not enough to win if they didn't fall. It worked out for me.

Ty Masterpool earned the Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot and moto win in Wednesdays 65  7-11  race at Lorettas.
Noah Gordon displays his Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot Award  earned in the 51  4-6  Limited class at Lorettas on Wednesday.
(Above) Ty Masterpool earned the Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot and moto win in Wednesday's 65 (7-11) race at Loretta's. (Below) Noah Gordon displays his holeshot award, earned in the 51 (4-6) Limited class.
"It's so hard to stay patient in a race like this. You have competition pressing behind you and lappers in front of you, but I stayed smart and eventually got into the lead.”

In the 450 ranks, Jace Owen came out on top in the first 450 A moto while Tyler McSwain took the top spot in 450 B. Owen was unstoppable in his race, earning the $100 Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot and leading every lap of the competition.

The young guns hit the track as well after conditions improved in the afternoon. Noah Gordon took the holeshot and win in the 51 (4-6) Limited class while Jett Reynolds grabbed the checkers in the 51 (7-8) Limited class. Ty Masterpool logged a holeshot and win in the 65 (7-11) class and Austin Forkner battled from outside the top-10 to take the win in Super Mini 2 (13-16).

Click here for full results from Loretta Lynn’s 2013.

Wednesday's Holeshot Award Winners 
Two-stroke B/C (16+): Derek Johnson 
450B: Zachary Bishop-Burnett 
450A: Jace Owen 
Super Mini 2 (13-16): Jon Ames 
Senior (40+): Jamie Bennett 
250B: Aaron Plessinger 
250A: Colt Nichols 
65 (7-11): Ty Masterpool 
51 (7-8) Limited: Ryder DiFrancesco 
51 (4-6) Limited: Noah Gordon 
51 (4-6) Shaft Drive Ltd.: Hayden Lavender 
Bookmark and Share