Saturday 29th, Sunday 30th & Monday 31st January: All tracks open. We have had some welcome rain so have been able to rip and tidy the MX track, the mini is in good condition and the trails are great. The Red Light change will not bring changes at Maddix Park. * No vaccine passes are required as all are welcome on any day that we are open. (Check FB or Website for updates on open days or phone 07 5442251). * No pre-booking is required. * We will provide specific details when you sign in regarding "defined space" parking to comply with COVID regulations.


Dominant Performances the Hallmark

NZ Junior National Champs

maddix park mx  Credit: Words and photo by Andy McGechan,

Dominant performances were the hallmark of racing at the 2014 New Zealand Junior Motocross Champions near Greymouth at the weekend.

Titles were on offer in six separate categories and maximum tallies were achieved by riders in four of those at the Backflips Clothing and KTM-sponsored event, held at Waipuna Station, Ikamatua, Westland, over the Anzac weekend.

Racing was reduced from seven races per class to just five over Saturday and Sunday as wild weather leading up to the event had turned much of the venue – about halfway between Reefton and Greymouth – into a quagmire. But fine weather greeted the riders for much of the weekend and there seemed to be no problems for the riders to find traction on the farmland course.

Taupo’s Cohen Chase won three of his five races in the premier 14-16 years’ 250cc class, and he finished runner-up in the other two, easily beating Oamaru’s Joel Meikle to the trophy, while his younger brother Wyatt Chase enjoyed similar dominance in the eldest of the 85cc bike classes, for riders aged 13-16 years.

Wyatt Chase won four of his five outings, an eighth placing in race one his only hiccup. Wyatt Chase finished the championship equal on points with Taihape’s Hayden Smith, but was eventually given the title on a count-back because he had scored more race wins.

Other class winners were Rangiora’s Dylan Walsh, who won the 15-16 years’ 125cc class ahead of Ngatea’s Benjamin Broad, while Nelson’s Reece Walker won the 12-14 years 125cc class ahead of Te Puke’s Tyler Steiner.

Visiting Australian rider Tyler Darby won the 11-12 years’ 85cc title and Auckland’s Ryan Webley won the 8-10 years’ 85cc crown.

Walsh, Walker, Darby and Webley were each unbeaten over the weekend, achieving their respective title wins with maximum points to their credit.

Leading results:

14-16 years’ 250cc:

1. Cohen Chase (Taupo, Yamaha) 119 points;

2. Joel Meikle (Oamaru, Honda) 101;

3. Bryn Gilbert (Alexandra, Honda) 96.

15-16 years’ 125cc:

1. Dylan Walsh (Rangiora, KTM) 125 points (maximum);

2. Benjamin Broad (Ngatea, Yamaha) 99;

3. Nick Hornby (Hawera, Yamaha) 95.

12-14 years 125cc:

1. Reece Walker (Nelson, Yamaha) 125 points (maximum);

2. Tyler Steiner (Te Puke, KTM) 108;

3. Camden Butler (Masterton, Yamaha) 98.

13-16 years’ 85cc:

1. Wyatt Chase (Taupo, Yamaha) 113;

2. Hayden Smith (Taihape, KTM) 113;

3. Adam Moss (Wellington, Kawasaki) 98.

11-12 years’ 85cc:

1. Tyler Darby (Australia, KTM) 125 points (maximum);

2. James Scott (Oparau, Kawasaki) 108;

3. Grason Veitch (Dunedin, KTM) 102.

8-10 years 85cc:

1. Ryan Webley (Auckland, KTM) 125 points (maximum);

2. Regan Turner (Dunedin, Kawasaki) 110;

3. Luca Palmer-Donaldson (Nelson, KTM) 92.

Credit: Words and photo by Andy McGechan,

For detail results click to MyLaps

Bookmark and Share