Saturday 22nd & Sunday 23rd January all tracks open from 9.00 - dark. Mini track is in good condition, the MX is dry and a bit rough in places (cannot be groomed until we get rain). The Trail loops are in great condition and a good ride to escape some of the heat.


Moss Wins in Australia

Supercross Round 1

maddix park mx

Click here for highlights

In an exciting opening to the new-look 2015 Australian Supercross Championship, tonight’s Supercheap Auto sponsored opening round at Bathurst Showgrounds saw Team Motul Suzuki’s Matt Moss pick up exactly where he left off last year to dominate the SX1 final, while American Jimmy Decotis turned on an exciting charge through the pack to the win in the SX2 final for the Penrite Honda Racing team.

A large crowd on the weekend of the annual Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 V8 Supercar race at Mount Panorama was treated to quality racing on a spectacular track that was made all the more challenging by afternoon rain showers that delivered a wet and slippery surface for the evening’s feature events.

But wet track or not, there was absolutely no stopping Moss in the SX1 category, the reigning two-time champ winning his opening Heat race and then dominating the Final, taking a powerful holeshot and running with clear air all the way to the chequered flag.

“I knew what I had to do tonight, and that’s exactly how it went down, so I am rapt to get the win,” said Moss from atop victory lane.

“I’ve been working so hard coming into this event and all that work is paying off. I felt great at the end of the 20 laps.

“And it feels great to get another win for the Motul Suzuki team again. Jay and Jess and all the team have put such a huge effort in and it feels great to kick off the Australian Championship in this way for them.”

Moss took the win ahead of CDR Yamaha Racing rider Dan Reardon, who impressed in his first Supercross outing in three years, and who eventually gained the upper hand in a mid-race tussle with American rider Gavin Faith, who has stepped up to the SX1 class this year for the Penrite Honda Racing team, and who is the reigning SX2 Australian champion.

KTM Motocross Racing Team rider Kirk Gibbs finished fourth, while Kade Mosig made it two CDR Yamaha Racing team riders in the top five by coming fifth, one spot ahead of the top privateer, Victorian Suzuki rider Sam Martin.

In SX2 class racing, pint-size powerpack Jimmy Decotis showed he means business on his Down Under tour, by blitzing his Heat race and then turning on a fabulous come from behind ride in the Final.

Serco Yamaha’s Luke Clout holeshot the Final and set a cracking pace up front, ahead of SG3 Husqvarna rider Luke Arbon, while Decotis was mired mid-pack off the start.

But Decotis put his head down and mastered the slick conditions best, working his way through the pack to eventually get on the tail of Clout late in the race and really apply the pressure.

Ultimately Decotis gained the upper hand and made a pass stick, the Penrite Honda Racing rider going on to take the win from Clout, with Arbon settling in to a solid third place to show he is over the health woes that had dogged him at the end of the MX Nationals season. Meanwhile Penrite Wilson Honda MX team riders Jackson Richardson and Geran Stapleton rounded out the top five.

“Yeah, that bad start in the Final really made it tough,” Decotis explained after the race. “But I just settled down and rode strong and worked my way through and then when I caught up to Luke, we were both riding really good and we had a good race until I could finally get the edge.

“The track tonight was tough after the rain this afternoon and the track crew did a great job.

“I’m really happy to win first time out in Australia, it feels great. I can’t wait to head to Queensland and the next round next weekend!”

In the SXD class Final, GYTR Yamaha riders Mitch Evans and Jordan Hill painted the podium blue with a perfect one-two finish, ahead of KTM Australia’s Kaleb Barham.

For full results from tonight’s Bathurst Australian Supercross Championship event, check out web site.

Round two of the 2015 Australian Supercross Championship heads to Jimboomba X Stadium in south-east Queensland next Saturday, October 17.

Meanwhile, to stay up to date on all the Supercross news and social media channels, and for all event details and ticket sale information, be sure to check out the officia web

2015 Australian Supercross Championship
Round one – Bathurst, NSW

SX1 overall results:
1. Matt MOSS
2. Daniel REARDON
3. Gavin FAITH
4. Kirk GIBBS
5. Kade MOSIG
7. Luke STYKE
8. Lawson BOPPING
9. Daniel McCOY
10. Adam MONEA
12. Brodie HARTIN
13. Kale MAKEHAM
14. Joel NEWTON
15. Danny HAM

SX2 overall results:
1. Jimmy DECOTIS
2. Luke CLOUT
3. Luke ARBON
6. Lewis WOODS
7. Wade HUNTER
9. Caleb WARD
10. Dylan WILLS
11. Nathan CRAWFORD
12. Jessie MADDEN
13. Taylor POTTER
15. Jed BEATON
17. Tim VARE
18. Jack SIMPSON
19. Jamie HARVEY
20. Boyd HOCKING

SXD overall results:
1. Mitch EVANS
2. Jordan HILL
3. Kaleb BARHAM
5. Lachlan HOLROYD
7. Brock McLEARY
8. Tyler BULLEN
9. Travis SILK

Click here for detailed results

Bookmark and Share